Skip to main content

Day 17: sick off for this Beyoncé

**Kai! Ideally this is a day after the camp has ended but I must update this blog from my diary. Here it is.**

*****
Today started out cold. Harmattan is real oh. I had gone out to check FBS for one of the camp officials as Dr Chris had earlier instructed. I saw Ponmile going to get his costume for the carnival today and I also saw them setting up for it.
Still wasn't feeling so good. I really just wanted to lay down in bed all day. 
It was carnival day and it started at about 10am or was it 9am? But who starts so early and ends at about 2pm? Na we for Afikpo!

It seems like they had fun sha. All the music and razzmattaz. I didn't even bring jeans to wear sef.

Mini really made sure I was taken care of and everyone in the clinic did same for me. Got IM PCM when my temperature started to rise. Later Dr Chris came and said he will give me P-Alaxin. Ah!!!! I'm not taking please 😭. Then Billy came to see me. I felt a lot better by then.

Thank you so much guys!!!! 

As I practically chilled out all day, I probably saw one patient or so...and that might have been an emergency. 

Here's gist from the carnival:
Platoon 6 came 1st
Platoon 2 came 2nd
Platoon 7 came 3rd

Ah and Yusrah danced with her platoon 🙌🏼🙌🏼🙌🏼 This our clinic has multi talented people.
Prep for the carnival

Go Platoon 10!!!! Peep our leader Fortune leading

We always show up and entertain

Because Beyoncé used to rest too,
2400

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Day 40: all join, na our papa land

Happy new year!!!!! Yessir! I've been on a break with this blog. It's been one big ride with this service thing oh because a lot of us left Ebonyi state for the holidays after showing up at our PPA. Now we are back or in transit back to really serve our Fatherland. Me? So....I redeployed!!! To FCT-Abuja. Yes, I did. Let's not discuss about my reasons but I did. I'll miss my Ebonyi family but honestly, na earth so  we go still dey communicate. I came into Abuja and went to start my post-redeployment procedure. I've made journeys to the secretariat and I'm almost done...or so I think. I have a new state code but I'm yet to get my PPA. You won't believe it!!!! I saw Lambert and I've seen another girl from Ebonyi camp...and she said there's more if us. Lol! But all na service sha. The queue here is mad, yeah, it's dissolved into one whole soup but I'm not about that pushing life. Ah! I've seen another person. loooooo...

Day 21: goodbyes are hard!!!!

Even good things come to an end. Chai! Writing this is painful because today I held back tears. As early as 3am I heard "Corper don blow..." and quite some noise as people were either getting ready or already making their way to drop their mattress...dunno. Billy even sent me a message saying "Corper don blow .. Lol! I went back to sleep abeg. Yesterday I packed my things from F2, my hostel and brought it to the clinic...Mini helped me carry them. Not much though...small box and an empty carrier bag. I got up later to meet people dressed and a long queue of people submitting their mattresses. Guys where are you running to???? I hear some were woken up as early as 2am, y'all extra!!!! After taking my bath and dressing up, TomTom helped me get my mattress from my hostel so I can submit it. That mattress storage room is so stuffy! Well, we finished and I repacked and the clinic was cleaned out. I mean CLEANED OUT. Drug cabinet, beds, examining bench, chairs, ...

Day 5: officially a Nigerian Youth Corper

Swearing-in day!!!!! Today was pretty straightforward you know, get sworn in and start the Corper life. My day started with me meeting a patient from last night entering the clinic. I was just about to take a bath when he strolled in. Well, I told him to take a bed as all he clearly needed was bed rest to avoid the morning drills. After getting ready for the day the clinic was in full swing with patients left right and center. From those avoiding the days formalities (swearing-in), to genuine complaints. We got ready for the day, all kitted in out official uniforms and with emergency supplies ready...at least, the best we could get available. It's like they rang the bell at some point because back to back we received people and then gbam!!!! Asthmatic attack became the reigning thing. I mean, you know you're asthmatic and you don't bring your inhaler to the parade ground or you don't bring your drugs or take your drugs! Who is playing with you??? Please be guide...