Skip to main content

Day 3: "eye disloyalty"

I didn't take a bath early enough πŸ™†πŸ½‍♀️πŸ™†πŸ½‍♀️πŸ™†πŸ½‍♀️
......

People of God how far now?
Today started with work oh. I woke up officially at about past 4am, went to get my things for the day from my hostel, freshened up a little and then started attending to people! We had a full house after some time with the camp officials coming to check their blood pressure and see how things are going. Let's back up, shall we?

Please why are they "offing" the light??? Just why? Light out is from 10pm and the light literally goes OUT. At about 9:55pm yesterday I was scrambling to get me and my backpack out of my hostel, down to the clinic because that's where I was going to sleep.
At about 1:40am some ladies were asking via the window if there was bed space in the clinic, they thought it was a hostel. I can imagine that they arrived at the camp so late and were just looking for a place to pass the night. Well, CMD sha answered them: sorry not here.
Back to the day: I've been at the clinic all day. It's been gbas-gbos of hilarious junk! Here's what we've heard in the name of medical reports today:
1. Eye disloyalty: patient apparently has chronic ulcer, eye disloyalty, blue vision amongst others. I really don't know what all this means but we had a good laugh. I mean we really aren't here to keep people but this report was ridiculous.
2. Asthmatic patients: them plentyyyyy! From not having inhalers to being on ridiculous medications like Tab Ventolin 200mg BD  for months.
3. Someone was RVS positive and on ART but had no idea she had that. Clearly a case of someone writing a report for you and doing the most.

See eh, we've laughed. Is it the English sef? I feel people should collect their money back oh.

Then the patient that wanted to prove at all cost that he was diabetic. I mean he had me when he started talking with so much knowledge about the condition but when he started saying that hypoglycemia and hyperglycaemia are the 2 types of diabetes and other way out stuff, we were taken aback! Sebi it's exeat we can give and you want: gbam! Take it.

I've been dealing with a running nose so I took Loratidine and slept...I slept eh! Like 4 hours or so. Well rested, Honourable CMD and I went to Mami market to get some food. Ladies and gentlemen, I've finally eaten "indomie and egg" oh. It was ok.
Mini says that we can order from mamimarket.com , who is he kidding? Lol!

I hear there's a party tonight...I'm sitting here in clinic typing this. You can be sure I'm not going. Maybe CMD and I will stroll there to take a look...dunno yet.
Update: we didn't go again! Lol! But we got news that Dr Fubsy scattered the floor. We are proud of him as we've been well represented 😊

                    A screenshot of one of the medical reports brought in today.
                            A stand at Mami market

With a loyal eye,
2400


Special shout-out to Billy, Mini (CMD), Fubsy  (CMAC), Aunty Mercy, Thomas and the whole medical team.

*Gbas-gbos: back-to-back
*CMD is also called Mini (short for Okemini).

Comments

  1. Passionate Dr.
    Hope you enforced loyalty in the disloyal eye. Lolz
    Nice piece.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol! I know this is MiniπŸ˜† Thank you sir.

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Day 40: all join, na our papa land

Happy new year!!!!! Yessir! I've been on a break with this blog. It's been one big ride with this service thing oh because a lot of us left Ebonyi state for the holidays after showing up at our PPA. Now we are back or in transit back to really serve our Fatherland. Me? So....I redeployed!!! To FCT-Abuja. Yes, I did. Let's not discuss about my reasons but I did. I'll miss my Ebonyi family but honestly, na earth so  we go still dey communicate. I came into Abuja and went to start my post-redeployment procedure. I've made journeys to the secretariat and I'm almost done...or so I think. I have a new state code but I'm yet to get my PPA. You won't believe it!!!! I saw Lambert and I've seen another girl from Ebonyi camp...and she said there's more if us. Lol! But all na service sha. The queue here is mad, yeah, it's dissolved into one whole soup but I'm not about that pushing life. Ah! I've seen another person. loooooo...

Day 21: goodbyes are hard!!!!

Even good things come to an end. Chai! Writing this is painful because today I held back tears. As early as 3am I heard "Corper don blow..." and quite some noise as people were either getting ready or already making their way to drop their mattress...dunno. Billy even sent me a message saying "Corper don blow .. Lol! I went back to sleep abeg. Yesterday I packed my things from F2, my hostel and brought it to the clinic...Mini helped me carry them. Not much though...small box and an empty carrier bag. I got up later to meet people dressed and a long queue of people submitting their mattresses. Guys where are you running to???? I hear some were woken up as early as 2am, y'all extra!!!! After taking my bath and dressing up, TomTom helped me get my mattress from my hostel so I can submit it. That mattress storage room is so stuffy! Well, we finished and I repacked and the clinic was cleaned out. I mean CLEANED OUT. Drug cabinet, beds, examining bench, chairs, ...

Day 5: officially a Nigerian Youth Corper

Swearing-in day!!!!! Today was pretty straightforward you know, get sworn in and start the Corper life. My day started with me meeting a patient from last night entering the clinic. I was just about to take a bath when he strolled in. Well, I told him to take a bed as all he clearly needed was bed rest to avoid the morning drills. After getting ready for the day the clinic was in full swing with patients left right and center. From those avoiding the days formalities (swearing-in), to genuine complaints. We got ready for the day, all kitted in out official uniforms and with emergency supplies ready...at least, the best we could get available. It's like they rang the bell at some point because back to back we received people and then gbam!!!! Asthmatic attack became the reigning thing. I mean, you know you're asthmatic and you don't bring your inhaler to the parade ground or you don't bring your drugs or take your drugs! Who is playing with you??? Please be guide...