Skip to main content

Day 15: Emergency emergency!

Emergency, emergency, you never see me coming through!

Say what!??!??!!!!
So today was cool. They played volleyball but I don't think we have concluded sha...I mean the finals.
Dr Ken (did I mention him? He's the doctor sent by Ministry of health to this clinic to help out) handed over to Dr Chris. I hear Dr Chris is a fun person and nice to work with. Dr Ken was so nice and calm. Thank you sir.

Another thing, Platoon 10 was in the kitchen today. My people picked beans tire today but TomTom says Ore was just taking pictures 😁 But she worked sha and was tired sef.

We (Mini, Anita, Ore and I) went to collect the money they were sharing to us. Let us pray guys, that the true wealth of this nation will be reflected in our bank accounts and the money we get from our government...Amen.

Today TomTom wrote an exeat for me, that I'm causing emotional trauma to Mini...lol!!!!!!! When Mini was taking P-Alaxin for malaria or the time around his taking it; TomTom will blame every naughty thing he does on the P-Alaxin...as per, his right hand man. These guys are fun to be with sha: shootout to TomTom, Fubsy and Mini. Thank you so much guys.

What happened today again oh??? Work, work, work, work, work. Mini had called a meeting for us to make some decisions in the clinic. Yeah, that also includes the fact that we are having a party before we go.


Hmmmmmmmmmmmm
That was how we had one person rushed in, apparently the same lady from yesterday's post. She played volleyball and she fainted after the match was over. Well, we thank God she came around after a while.
Herbalist (one of the funniest Man 'o' war guys) was one of those who brought her in. He too wasn't feeling fine but you know how it is when people think you're joking. Even after IM's , his colleagues were still laughing at him...we laughed too sef. He didn't even want to rest...after begging he took only about 30mins of bed rest and off he was to the hall for the socials.

Today was Mr Macho and Miss NYSC. Mini, Mikky and most of the clinic crew went to cheer our people (Fubsy, Vera and Felicity) as they participated.
Also to cheer our friend Habiba. Here's a side eye to Mini.

That was how I was the one with Yusrah in the clinic. The lady brought in after volleyball was resting and there were 2 people with her. I told Yusrah I needed to use the toilet and bathroom and she should call me if anything.
Brethren while in there I heard the vrooommmm of the car but it got distant so I thought it wasn't for us. Only for Yusrah to shout "D-i, D-i, emergency, there's an emergency". Omo babe fly out but towel for chair as I bolted in to see someone we had given exeat almost 2 weeks ago or so with "acute exacerbation of asthma": an asthmatic attack! Aunty Ada (the nurse around) and I started trying to help out...before I blinked I saw Mini there as we were looking for the salbutamol to nebulise her.
Well, blessed be God that she is fine! Dr Chris and everyone around wasn't having it...she's leaving tomorrow 🤦
Next thing they rushed another person with shoulder pain. See eh, this one looks like it isn't too serious but Dr Chris is already saying she's going home. As per usual, none of the above want to go home. What's in this camp please? Well friends and fun sha...I kinda understand but over good health? Nah!

Felicity came 4th in Miss NYSC, Fubsy came 5th in Mr Macho... congratulations guys!!!! Well done.
Pic1

Pic2

Pic3

Pic4

Pic5

Pic6

Pic7

Pic8

Pic9

All pictures courtesy of Fubsy who contested for Mr Macho

D'banj will be proud of our response,
2400


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Day 40: all join, na our papa land

Happy new year!!!!! Yessir! I've been on a break with this blog. It's been one big ride with this service thing oh because a lot of us left Ebonyi state for the holidays after showing up at our PPA. Now we are back or in transit back to really serve our Fatherland. Me? So....I redeployed!!! To FCT-Abuja. Yes, I did. Let's not discuss about my reasons but I did. I'll miss my Ebonyi family but honestly, na earth so  we go still dey communicate. I came into Abuja and went to start my post-redeployment procedure. I've made journeys to the secretariat and I'm almost done...or so I think. I have a new state code but I'm yet to get my PPA. You won't believe it!!!! I saw Lambert and I've seen another girl from Ebonyi camp...and she said there's more if us. Lol! But all na service sha. The queue here is mad, yeah, it's dissolved into one whole soup but I'm not about that pushing life. Ah! I've seen another person. loooooo...

Day 21: goodbyes are hard!!!!

Even good things come to an end. Chai! Writing this is painful because today I held back tears. As early as 3am I heard "Corper don blow..." and quite some noise as people were either getting ready or already making their way to drop their mattress...dunno. Billy even sent me a message saying "Corper don blow .. Lol! I went back to sleep abeg. Yesterday I packed my things from F2, my hostel and brought it to the clinic...Mini helped me carry them. Not much though...small box and an empty carrier bag. I got up later to meet people dressed and a long queue of people submitting their mattresses. Guys where are you running to???? I hear some were woken up as early as 2am, y'all extra!!!! After taking my bath and dressing up, TomTom helped me get my mattress from my hostel so I can submit it. That mattress storage room is so stuffy! Well, we finished and I repacked and the clinic was cleaned out. I mean CLEANED OUT. Drug cabinet, beds, examining bench, chairs, ...

Day 5: officially a Nigerian Youth Corper

Swearing-in day!!!!! Today was pretty straightforward you know, get sworn in and start the Corper life. My day started with me meeting a patient from last night entering the clinic. I was just about to take a bath when he strolled in. Well, I told him to take a bed as all he clearly needed was bed rest to avoid the morning drills. After getting ready for the day the clinic was in full swing with patients left right and center. From those avoiding the days formalities (swearing-in), to genuine complaints. We got ready for the day, all kitted in out official uniforms and with emergency supplies ready...at least, the best we could get available. It's like they rang the bell at some point because back to back we received people and then gbam!!!! Asthmatic attack became the reigning thing. I mean, you know you're asthmatic and you don't bring your inhaler to the parade ground or you don't bring your drugs or take your drugs! Who is playing with you??? Please be guide...