Skip to main content

Day 2: na the work wey we dey do

I've always frolicked with the idea of hosting an online journal of events, I guess this is it.
You're welcome to my/our version of events.
...…

As early as 6:34am I was at the gate getting ready to "enter" into the camp...I mean, literally enter. After bidding my temporary goodbyes, I made my way to the first registration port. I was number 227, and apparently the first for the day.
Then off to get my accommodation sorted. Thank God for a one mummy who left this morning oh, I didn't have to go looking for a foam. I claimed my spot beside the window and gbam! I sped off to get my registration sorted and done with.

Can somebody shout Hallelujah!!!! It went bye fast...at least the fastest as I'm what they call "foreign student" and also a doctor. The registration aunty took it upon herself that I finished on time so I could go to the clinic fast. Thank you ma.

A special shout out to my new guys: Billy and Lambert for helping me in any way to sort out photocopies...yeah, I needed 3 done.

After sorting myself out, getting my oversized clothes, laying my bed: I went to the camp clinic but after gbam!!!! My NYSC white knicker tore as I climbed a low step while leaving the toilet. My brethren, I thank God I had my spares and so I went to change. Abeg, it's ok to not wear their own clothes, I'll rock my look-alike mbok!

It's been like 8hrs since I've been in this clinic and I've been working. Well, we're 4 doctors here (although we were 3 for most of the time as the last person arrived by past 6pm). It's been hectic and funny oh. See medical report tire!!! Lol! No comments... we'll talk later perhaps.

Day 1 for me and I've already ridden in the ambulance to the coordinator's place to deliver medical attention. 

This will be an amazing camp! Yes by God's grace.

Well, the day continues but I need to find food... because it's not me that will eat eba this night, Amen?!?!





On top our papa matter,
2400

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Day 40: all join, na our papa land

Happy new year!!!!! Yessir! I've been on a break with this blog. It's been one big ride with this service thing oh because a lot of us left Ebonyi state for the holidays after showing up at our PPA. Now we are back or in transit back to really serve our Fatherland. Me? So....I redeployed!!! To FCT-Abuja. Yes, I did. Let's not discuss about my reasons but I did. I'll miss my Ebonyi family but honestly, na earth so  we go still dey communicate. I came into Abuja and went to start my post-redeployment procedure. I've made journeys to the secretariat and I'm almost done...or so I think. I have a new state code but I'm yet to get my PPA. You won't believe it!!!! I saw Lambert and I've seen another girl from Ebonyi camp...and she said there's more if us. Lol! But all na service sha. The queue here is mad, yeah, it's dissolved into one whole soup but I'm not about that pushing life. Ah! I've seen another person. loooooo...

Day 21: goodbyes are hard!!!!

Even good things come to an end. Chai! Writing this is painful because today I held back tears. As early as 3am I heard "Corper don blow..." and quite some noise as people were either getting ready or already making their way to drop their mattress...dunno. Billy even sent me a message saying "Corper don blow .. Lol! I went back to sleep abeg. Yesterday I packed my things from F2, my hostel and brought it to the clinic...Mini helped me carry them. Not much though...small box and an empty carrier bag. I got up later to meet people dressed and a long queue of people submitting their mattresses. Guys where are you running to???? I hear some were woken up as early as 2am, y'all extra!!!! After taking my bath and dressing up, TomTom helped me get my mattress from my hostel so I can submit it. That mattress storage room is so stuffy! Well, we finished and I repacked and the clinic was cleaned out. I mean CLEANED OUT. Drug cabinet, beds, examining bench, chairs, ...

Day 5: officially a Nigerian Youth Corper

Swearing-in day!!!!! Today was pretty straightforward you know, get sworn in and start the Corper life. My day started with me meeting a patient from last night entering the clinic. I was just about to take a bath when he strolled in. Well, I told him to take a bed as all he clearly needed was bed rest to avoid the morning drills. After getting ready for the day the clinic was in full swing with patients left right and center. From those avoiding the days formalities (swearing-in), to genuine complaints. We got ready for the day, all kitted in out official uniforms and with emergency supplies ready...at least, the best we could get available. It's like they rang the bell at some point because back to back we received people and then gbam!!!! Asthmatic attack became the reigning thing. I mean, you know you're asthmatic and you don't bring your inhaler to the parade ground or you don't bring your drugs or take your drugs! Who is playing with you??? Please be guide...